News at your Fingertips in Sri Lanka

India outclasses Netherlands to stay unbeaten

0 49

Shreyas Iyer and K.L Rahul hit centuries as India secured a comfortable 160-run victory over the Netherlands in their last first-round World Cup match at M. Chinnaswamy Cricket Stadium in Bangalore yesterday.

Finishing the first-round matches on a high note, India stands as the only unbeaten team with nine consecutive wins, earning them a spot in the semi-final against New Zealand, scheduled for the 15th at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The Indian team showcased an exceptional batting display, with Shreyas Iyer and Rahul leading the way with outstanding centuries. Despite the Netherlands chasing a target of 411 runs, they could only manage 250 all-out in 47.5 overs.

Theja Nidamanuru top-scored with 54, and Sybrand Engelbrecht contributed 45 runs. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, and Ravindra Jadeja shared 2 wickets among them. Shreyas Iyer was named the Man of the Match.

After the first round, India leads with 18 points, followed by South Africa and Australia with 14 points each in the second and third places. New Zealand, with 10 points in the fourth place, qualified for the semi-finals. Pakistan and Afghanistan secured the fifth and sixth places, with England and Bangladesh in 7th and 8th places. Sri Lanka and the Netherlands, the two teams from the qualifying round, are in 9th and 10th places.

Captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat, with Sharma (61) and Shubman Gill (51) establishing a solid platform by adding 100 runs in 11.5 overs.

In-form Virat Kohli hit 51 runs in 56 balls with 5 fours and a six. Shreyas showcased exceptional batting form and smashed an unbeaten 128 from 94 balls for his first World Cup century. His innings included 10 boundaries and five sixes.

Rahul, the wicketkeeper-batsman, struck 11 fours and 4 sixes in an aggressive 64-ball knock, playing a key role in building the innings.

Bas de Leede was the only successful bowler, claiming 2 wickets but conceding 82 runs in his 10 overs.

Chief scores

India: 410 for 4 wickets in 50 overs (Rohit Sharma 61, Shubman Gill 51, Virat Kohli 51, Shreyas Iyer 128*, K.L Rahul 102, Bas de Leede 2/82)

Netherlands 250 in 47.5 overs (Max O’Dowd 30,Colin Ackermann 35, Sybrand Engelbrecht 45,Teja Nidamanuru 54, Jasprit Bumrah 2/33, Mohammed Siraj 2/29, Ravindra Jadeja 2/49, Kuldeep Yadav 2/41)

The post India outclasses Netherlands to stay unbeaten appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.