News at your Fingertips in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Hockey Nationals kick off on January 25

0 24

The Sri Lanka Hockey Federation (SLHF) has announced the unanimous decision to host the 60th Men’s and 30th Women’s Hockey National Championship. Proudly sponsored by Lanka IOC, the event is set to take place from January 25 to 28, 2024 at the Shalika Grounds, Park Road in Colombo 5.

Originally slated for November, the 2023 tournament experienced delays due to adverse weather conditions and December school exams. Consequently, organizers rescheduled the championship to the end of January. The SLHF expressed the need for a suitable window for the tournament, ensuring optimal playing conditions and maximum participation.

The four-day national championship will see the participation of 15 men’s teams and seven women’s teams. The men’s teams are divided into four groups: Pool ‘A’, Pool ‘B’, Pool ‘C’, and Pool ‘D’.

In Pool ‘A’, competing teams include Defence Service HA, Gampaha HA, Kandy HA, and Sri Lanka Schools HA. Pool ‘B’ will feature Mercantile HA, Uva HA, and Matara HA. Pool ‘C’ consists of State Services HA, Matale HA, Combined University HW, and Nationalised Services HA. Pool ‘D’ will see four teams vying for victory – Colombo HA, Kalutara HA, Wennappuwa HA, and Galle HA.

The women’s competition will have seven teams distributed across two groups: Pool ‘A’ and Pool ‘B’. Teams in Pool ‘A’ include Defence Services HA, Combined University HW, Sri Lanka Schools HA, and Kandy HA. Pool ‘B’ comprises Wennappuwa HA, Colombo HA, and Matale HA.

The post Sri Lanka Hockey Nationals kick off on January 25 appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.