News at your Fingertips in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka to host Lawyers Cricket World Cup

0 31

The 8th edition of the Lawyers Cricket World Cup is being hosted by Sri Lanka Lawyers Cricket will commence at five venues in Colombo on Friday (29) and the final will be played at the Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) ground on 6th January 2024.

It is the second time that Sri Lanka Lawyers Cricket are hosting the event as they hosted the the 6th edition in 2017. Teams from Bangladesh (2 teams), England, India (2 teams), Pakistan (2

teams), Sri Lanka (2 teams) and a combined Commonwealth team comprising of players from Australia , New Zealand and other commonwealth countries will vie for glory at the 8th edition.

The preliminary round will be played in two groups with India A, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan B and Sri Lanka B drawn in group A while Sri Lanka A, Pakistan A, India B, Bangladesh B and the Commonwealth team drawn in group B. Matches will be 35 overs per side and played

at Thurstan , FTZ Katunayake, LRDC Nawala, Artillery Panagoda, Air Force ground Katunayaike, MCA, NCC and SSC grounds. The Player Control Team (PCT) for the 8th edition of the Lawyers Cricket World Cup will comprise of officials from the Association of Cricket Umpires Sri Lanka (ACUSL) and Sri Lanka Cricket Scorers (SLCS).

The Lawyers Cricket World Cup has been played in Hyderabad India (2007), Cambridge England (2009), Barbados West Indies (2011), New Delhi India (2013), Brisbane Australia (2015/16), Colombo Sri Lanka (2017) and Hamilton New Zealand (2019).

The post Sri Lanka to host Lawyers Cricket World Cup appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.