News at your Fingertips in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka will confront South Africa on June 3 in their first match

0 22

South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh , Netherlands and Nepal are in same group at the forthcoming ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup which will be worked off from June 1 to 29 in the West Indies and USA

ICC men’s T20 event will see a record 20 teams divided into four groups competing across 55 games for the right to be crowned ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Champions 2024, Including co-hosts the West Indies and the USA, together with the other qualifiers: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Uganda will take part.

The 20 teams have been divided into four groups of five, with the top two teams progressing to the Super Eights:

The USA will take on Canada in the tournament opener at the Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Dallas on Saturday June 1, while the West Indies will kick start their campaign against Papua New Guinea at the Guyana National Stadium on Sunday June 2.

Defending champions England will begin their title defence on June 4 in Barbados against Scotland and 2022 finalists, Pakistan, will launch their campaign on June,6 when they play the USA in Dallas.

Among the plethora of blockbuster match ups scheduled in the group stage, fans can look forward to Sri Lanka taking on South Africa in New York on June,3 while England will go up against arch rivals Australia in Barbados on June.8.

Nepal, who qualified for the T20 World Cup for the first time since 2014, will open their campaign against Sri Lanka at Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida.

Upon completion of the group stage, the top two teams from each of the four groups will move into the Super Eight stage of the competition. Teams seeded first and second in their groups in the first round will retain that seeding in the Super Eight, provided they qualify. Super Eight matches are scheduled to be played in popular Caribbean tourist destinations Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

The two top teams from each group in the Super Eight will progress to the semi-finals, which will be held in Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday June 26 and Thursday June 27. The final will be held at the Kensington Oval in Barbados on Saturday June. 29

ICC T 20 world cup groupings

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and the USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman

Group C: New Zealand, the West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda and Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, the Netherlands and Nepal

The post Sri Lanka will confront South Africa on June 3 in their first match appeared first on DailyNews.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.